Liberals hate real America!

Picked this up on The Crypt yesterday. 

Warming up a crowd in North Carolina on Saturday, Republican Rep. Robin Hayes offered the diagnosis that “liberals hate real Americans that work and achieve and believe in God.”

His remarks came shortly after he had said he would “make sure we don’t say something stupid, make sure we don’t say something we don’t mean.” 

Hayes had followed Rep. Patrick McHenry, also a North Carolina Republican, who laid out the choice between McCain and Obama. 

“It’s like black and white,” yelled someone from the crowd.

The post goes on to chronicle the denials and ultimately the audio of the statements of Rep. Hayes to confirm he did indeed say these things. 

Is this how deep the culture wars run? Have we strayed so far from debating real issues that politicians have been reduced to portraying their opponents as people who “hate real Americans.”

For the record, I am 27 years old, I live in New York City. I’m married. My uncle is a retired Air Force lt. Colonel, I drive a Nissan. I like to play football and roller hockey on the weekends. I don’t own a gun. I pay taxes. I go to church. My father has voted Republican in every election I can remember, until now. Am I a real American?

One Response

  1. […] Liberals hate real America!Picked this up on The Crypt yesterday. Warming up a crowd in North Carolina on Saturday, Republican Rep. Robin Hayes offered the diagnosis that “liberals hate real Americans that work and achieve and believe in God.” … […]

Leave a Reply

