Rush Limbaugh: Anti-American

Consistent readers of thinkPOP know I hate “opinion-makers” be it Hannity on the right or Olbermann on the left I can’t stand those on cable news and talk radio that make a living constructing an alternate reality on a daily basis for mass consumption simply to perpetuate their own version of reality. I’ve railed against Keith Olbermann and his holier than thou diatribes before. Sean Hannity is as much a journalist as I am a hockey-mom, but when it comes to being King of wasted breath there is but one man, one large cigar-chomping, pill-popping man, who stands at the epicenter of heat rather than light and opinion peddling versus honest debate. That man is Rush Limbaugh. 

RushBo (stolen from politco) is the standard-bearer for the right. You know the one that supported Mitt Romney in the primaries. Rush is so diluted be his own imagined self-importance that he called for an “operation chaos” during the democratic primary in red states where Hillary was bound to win anyway, when she won by her expected margins Rushbo took credit. A mouthpiece for the right much more than an independent thinker Rushbo isn’t happy unless there’s an enemy to fight real or imagined. (This has been a problem on the right for some time now.) And so Rushbo took aim at someone he used to support this morning, he took aim at a war hero, a decorated military officer and former Republican secretary of state. He took aim at Colin Powell

“Secretary Powell says his endorsement is not about race,” Limbaugh wrote in an e-mail. “OK, fine. I am now researching his past endorsements to see if I can find all the inexperienced, very liberal, white candidates he has endorsed. I’ll let you know what I come up with.”

Rushbo in attacking Powell, and in-effect calling him a racist is attacking a man of conservative values who has never knowingly lied to the American people. Rush’s nasty attack on a man who has done more in service of this country that Limbaugh could ever dream of accomplishing is not only insulting to Powell personally, but I will go a step further Mr. Limbaugh, it’s un-american. 

You and your neocon pals have never felt any hesitation in finding ways to impugn the patriotism of your political opponents. Well I happen to think you don’t own the rights on being “American” or “Patriotic” in calling a general who served this country bravely a racist from the comfort of your home in an email, you are defying the very patriotism you claim to employ on your radio show. You’re pathetic. I hope the millions of sponsor dollars keep you warm at night. 

Let Colin Powell, a man that suffered enough after getting sacked and lied to by the adminstration you so cherish (you’ll remember the one with less that 30% approval rating), endorse the candidate he sees as the best choice for president. I realize your point of view is limited. But isn’t it possible, just possible, that Powell did see Obama as a “transformational figure.” Or are you too stupidly blinded by your own prejudice to see his endorsement as nothing more than black against white racism. Rush, the world is passing you by and you’re too stupid to notice.

2 Responses

  1. You know me, I skewer towards the conservative side a bit more, but Limbaugh is OUT THERE. I remember as a kid growing up, my dad listened to Rush all the time and I remember agreeing with just about everything he said. In the early days of Hannity, I agreed with just about everything as well.

    My views and values haven’t strayed much; I’ve always been a libertarian with a slightly conservative bent and a complete hatred for the left. These days, I am less conservative, more libertarian, and a little bit more liberal. Rush and Hannity no longer speak for me and my father, so to me both of them have changed.

    It’s refreshing to hear people who are squarely with the left denounce Olbermann though. He couldn’t do sports, and he sure as hell can’t do politics.

  2. I knew as soon as Colin Powell endorsed Obama that we would get cries of racism from people like Rush Limbaugh. He can’t call Powell stupid, or ignorant, or uninformed since no one would believe that. He can’t accuse him of blindly following his party since it’s not his party. But call a black man a racist to an audience that already thinks Obama is an Arab and he’s got them eating out of his hand. If there’s one thing Limbaugh knows how to do, it’s fan the flames. It disgusts me, but it doesn’t surprise me one bit.

Leave a Reply

