A Real Debate!

When these two Senators became their respective party’s nominee, I was excited. I was hopeful that we would be able to see a real debate between two intelligent well-rounded candidates. An ugly general election cycle took over and we never had that civil campaign I think so many Americans longed for. Until tonight. 

Senators McCain and Obama took the stage tonight and actually debated policy. While at this moment there is endless talking-headery going on, these two men clearly and thoughtfully articulated their positions on the economy and on a wide array of foreign policy issues. Let me also take this chance to mention the venerated old news man, Jim Lehrer. His moderation and easy going way between these two candidates provided the spot-on style and debate leadership I wish all news programs had. (In case you didn’t know, I am a rabid Newshour Watcher.)

Let me cut through what you will be hearing all night and all week. The debate was a tie and since Obama is ahead in the polls that means he won. I don’t know if that’s really the case or not. But I do know its rather irrelevant. I sat for 90 minutes and was throughly informed about the domestic plans and world view of these two men, one of whom will be our next president. That alone is something to be happy about.

2 Responses

  1. you beat me to posting it. best debate since Bush/Clinton/Perot in 1992.

Leave a Reply

