Microsoft Vista: Welcome to Your New Seinfeld Ad Campaign. I Hope It’s Moist and Chewy

Whooooaaa nelly! Here is the first ad in the top secret, long awaited new ad campaign for Microsoft from rock stars of the ad agency world, Crispin Porter + Bogusky that debuted last night. It’s got Jerry Seinfeld. It’s got Bill Gates. It’s got pleather shoes, churros, and it doesn’t make a lot of sense. The first two or three times I watched it, I immediately thought what most in the ad biz are thinking…WTF, dudes? How it must suck to be Fallon or any of the other agencies that lost out on this gig just for this steaming pile of crap! And Seinfeld got $10 million for this? 3% of the ad budget?

BUT, admittedly, the more I watch it, the more I find it strangely entertaining and intriguing. There’s a story at play here. It’s offbeat, unexpected, and not the same-old from Microsoft. I must say, I am now intrigued to see where this goes. I hope it’s not a letdown in the end. Seinfeld has a legacy for that kind of thing. Watch, now that I say that, Bill Gates and Jerry’ll end up in jail in the final spot. Here’s the ad, judge for yourselves:

2 Responses

  1. It is definitely not as bad as I thought it was going to be, but it definitely doesn’t stand up next to Apple’s ads. I am no marketing expert by any stretch, but i’m pretty sure the current Apple ads will go down as being even more important than their own “1984” ad.

    Apple just comes out swinging with their ads, and, what, 2 or 3 years later, this is the best Microsoft can come up with? Like I said, the ad is decent, but is by no means as classic as the Mac ads.

  2. […] que Vista y Microsoft sean tan cool como Apple. El primer spot es, cuanto menos, curioso, y no deja indiferente. Lo protagonizan Seinfeld, quizá el cómico americano más famoso, y el propio Bill […]

Leave a Reply

